Hello, World! Again!

Posted on November 11, 2017

First of all, I know it has been quite silent on here for a while. Since the last time I posted here, I switched jobs, and moved countries, so it would be fair to say that I have been quite busy in the meanwhile. But I’d still like to apologise, and I promise I will try to post more frequently from now on.

If you have been here before, you might have noticed that things have changed a fair bit. This is the new blog, reborn from the ashes, so to say. Though only because I felt like it was necessary to burn the old one. It’s now built using Hakyll instead of PelicanWhy switch, you ask? Shiny toys, that’s why.

, and it’s using Tufte CSS instead of my homegrown Jinja2 templates and CSS. I spent much more time on setting this up than I care to admit. The upshot is, I have new CSS without having to rewrite all my custom templates from scratch, and get to use these neat stylesheets.

One of my major pains with my old setup was the setup required to just write something quickly, due to the fact that I was maintaining my own styles and sources in different repositories, and also because Python requirements are notoriously janky if you’re not careful. This new system is handled entirely by stack, which makes things much easier.By the way, you can get the source of this blog over here, if you want to steal some code, or just look at it.

Initial setup takes quite a while, because I have to compile a whole load of dependencies, but it’s a fully automatic setup.

I have to admit, I was tempted to just switch to Medium during this whole process. But now that I have figured out how to build this whole thingRead: get it to compile

, I am quite happy with the results. Because Hakyll, just like Pelican, uses Markdown as source to generate HTML, I could easily port over my old posts once the dust had settled.